Scholarship Recipients 2014

Scholarship grants were awarded on Sunday, April 13, 2014 at the New Jersey Jazz Society’s monthly social at Shanghai Jazz in Madison to four deserving students pursuing degrees in Jazz Studies at each of the four New Jersey Universities offering such degree programs.

Brandon Dixon, Saxophone, Rowan University (Bill Walters Scholarship). Brandon began studying saxophone as a teenager, both as a classical and as a jazz musician.   While at Rowan, he has pursued a performance degree in Jazz Studies, where he has studied classical saxophone technique, as well as music composition, under the mentorship of Timothy Powell, Denis DiBlasio, Carl Cox, and Roberto Pace.  Brandon has performed regularly in his home state of New Jersey.

Matt Tischio, Saxophone, William Paterson University (Jack Stine Scholarship). Matt is a member of the stellar William Paterson Jazz Orchestra, which can be heard year-round at their Sunday afternoon Jazz Room series on campus. Matt was inspired to pursue the saxophone seriously after a Jazz Day program as a freshman at Verona High School. He signed on to study with local sax player Mike Lee shortly after.

Chelsea Hughey, Drums, New Jersey City University (Don Robertson Scholarship). Chelsea is currently studying post-graduate with drummer Tim Horton. Chelsea hails from Indiana, where she received her undergrad degree at Butler University in Indianapolis. “I feel very lucky to be at New Jersey City U and to be working with their jazz faculty,” she said. “The program is great – it forces you to constantly bring your A-game.”

Isaac Dye, Tenor Sax, Rutgers University (Pee Wee Russell Scholarship). Isaac is a Rutgers Masters candidate, and was named outstanding soloist at the Lionel Hampton International Jazz Festival, and also at the Reno Jazz Festival. He won three gold medals at the Musicfest Northwest classical competition. Currently Isaac is featured with the Rutgers Jazz Ensemble I under the direction of Conrad Herwig and Rutgers Chamber Jazz Ensemble I under the direction of Victor Lewis.