New Jersey Jazz Society

Pee Wee Russell Memorial Stomp

March 4 at the Birchwood Manor, Whippany, NJ

The 38th Annual Pee Wee Stomp presented five hours hot jazz by four veteran bands and a sextet of New Jersey university jazz studies students, who were awarded New Jersey Jazz Society scholarships at the event. The Stomp also featured presentation of the annual NJJS awards to “Musician of the Year” Vince Giordano and “Non-Musician of the Year” Amos Kaune.

Below are photos of the event taken by Jersey Jazz editor Tony Mottola. Mouse over the thumbnails to see the larger photo.

The NJJS Scholarship Sextet

David Pollack, William Paterson University

back to top

Smith Street Society Band

Herb Gardner and Dan Levinson

Dick Voigt's Big Apple Jazz Band

back to top

Joe Licari and John Bucher

back to top

Kevin Dorn's Traditional Jazz Collective

Pete Martinez

back to top

Vince Giordano's Nighthawks

Vince Giordano

back to top

Award Winners

Noted jazz radio host and six-time Grammy winner
Phil Schaap presents the
2007 NJJS “Musician of the Year Award”
to bandleader Vince Giordano.

back to top

The Dancers